WIP Wednesday

Wishes BOM blocks done!

Wishes BOM blocks done!

Finally, all of the blocks for the Wishes BOM quilt are done! It’s taken me more than a year to get them finished, but finished they are! This is the first sampler quilt I’ve made and I wasn’t really prepared for the amount of cutting, and odd sizes, and that alone took a lot more time than I was expecting it to take. But I will say that I learned a lot making these blocks – a lot about making sure cuts are accurate, about making sure piecing is precise (and that 1/4″ seams are uniform) and about color choices. I think the next time I decide to do a sampler quilt, I will use my Accuquilt Go! Baby to cut the pieces. I’m hoping to upgrade to the regular size Go! later this year, so then I can make bigger blocks, but for now, the smaller blocks would work just fine. At least my cuts would be accurate, for all that my sewing sometimes look like a drunken sailor has taken over my studio.

Now it’s time to sash the quilt. I’d like to say I have everything planned from here on out, but the reality is, I don’t. I am trying to decide whether or not I want to use grey, white or black Kona cotton for the sashing. Right now, I’m leaning toward black or grey. I wanted to like the white, and it was my original choice, but I felt that the blocks get lost in the sea of white when I tested it out. The yellow tends to wash out significantly, and it really pops with the black, but overall, I think I like the grey the best …

Once this top is completed, I think I’m going to work on making myself a blouse. I’ve been reading Nancy Zieman’s book Pattern Fitting With Confidence and I think it’s time I try using some of the things I’m learning. I want to make a button down blouse, so I’m considering using Butterick B5300  for my first attempt at fitting. It’s a semi-fitted shirt made from woven fabric, so it will lend itself well to making a muslin, I hope.

But my real goal for this year is to reduce the overall number of UFOs I have, not increase them, so I am headed out today to see if I can find an extension table for my Pfaff Creative 4.5. I am hopeful that the table will be usable with or without the legs – with the legs when I want to take it with me, without the legs when I want to use it in my Horn Quilter’s Dream sewing cabinet. This is how I used my Janome 8900 for almost two years, and it was the perfect set up. With luck, I will be able to do the same with the Pfaff.

So, what’s on your work table this week?

Leave a Reply

