WIP Wednesday

My first WIP post for 2016 gives me the chance to report that I’ve been getting on with the sewing this week – a good start to my new year, I think. I am about to start my 11th block for the Wishes BOM from 2014, so I wanted to take a look at all the finished blocks together.

Month 10 completed

Month 10 completed

I like to take photos of my works in progress often, because a lot of times, I can spot things in a photo that I don’t see in person. This works really well for color selection in particular, but also block lay out and how things are coming together. Also, a photo is an invaluable tool when I’ve got the lay out set and then have to take the quilt off the wall to sew it together. Usually I do this one row at a time, but even then it can get really confusing if I don’t have something to use as a guide. I use both my camera on my phone (down & dirty shots) and my Canon 60D (when I’m a little more serious about better photos). Those lay out photos have saved me a lot of time and frustration over the years!

Anyway, I’ve not yet got these blocks in any particular order, because I don’t plan to follow the lay out of the original pattern. I was a part of the Facebook group for this BOM and I began to notice how many people were using the same fabrics as the original pattern, and how just about all of them followed the same lay out. I guess I’m a rebel, because following the sample to the letter just doesn’t really appeal to me. I prefer to choose my own fabrics and determine my own lay out, unless the lay out is integral to the design of the quilt, which is clearly not the case with a sampler such as this one.

Now I’m starting to think about the sashing between the blocks, and I don’t think I’m going to use white as originally planned. I think I might use grey or maybe even black. Right now, grey is the front runner but I’m holding off on a decision until all the blocks are finished.

So, what’s on your worktable on this first Wednesday of 2016?

3 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

  1. oh! I love love love this color combo…so striking yet relaxing at the same time! I’m working on finishing a HST Sampler quilt I started in November – just need a little more quilting and then binding…woot woot!

Leave a Reply

