This is going to be painful …

I have a great job, and I’m very happy and thankful to have it. Particularly right now, when my company is laying off thousands of people around the globe, I’ve got no complaints at all. But today I found out that after more than three years of working mostly at home, I’m going to need to be back in the office, it looks like probably four days a week if not the full five. That’s not SO bad, because you know, people and socializing and stuff. But when I heard the news, my heart sank a little bit because I was picturing my closet. You know, a closet with very few clothes for career wear, because over the last few years I haven’t really needed much, and so when my already older clothing wore out, I didn’t really think about replacing it because who needs a bunch of slacks & dressy blouses when they’re in the office once, maybe twice a week?

Good strategy, huh?

So I went up to my closet and took stock. Two pairs of slacks, a few blouses (that I’ve worn so often, I feel like they’re second skins), a single pair of work-type shoes. Ummm …. yeah. Great.

Since I need to start going back to the office most days of the week on MONDAY, I knew I wouldn’t be able to really make any clothing before I needed them. So I headed out to pick up a few things, and I’ll admit, I got some good deals – a couple pair of slacks, a few shirts and a cardigan for $160. But they’re so … generic. So … boring. So … lacking in style. But you know, at least it keeps me from going to work sans clothing. I hear they frown on that in the office these days.

I’m a plus size, and I’m not much of a garment sewist, but I’ve got to make an effort to make myself some clothes, because everything I saw today was just … eh. You know that feeling? You walk in to a store and you see some clothes and they’re ok, but nothing special, and you don’t hate them but you don’t love them. Eh. I haven’t worn skirts in ages because … well, because I’m not a thin girl, and … chub rub and all that, but I’m thinking that a couple skirts might be fairly simple and fast to turn out because I’m NOT a fast garment sewist. I can whip up a queen size quilt top in a day and a half, but a garment of any type? We’re talking a week, at least. Maybe longer, if I’m just not feeling it.

Frankly, I’m not terribly worried about fitting right now. I’m more concerned about construction and making sure I can actually put it together without too much hassle. Sure, fitting is important, but so is a garment I can wear. As I go along, I’m sure I’ll start working on fit more, but for now, it’s about garments that I can wear that don’t look terrible. I don’t care that others might judge me for that; they don’t have to agree with me. But I’m pretty sure that four pairs of slacks and eight tops will get pretty boring in short order, and I don’t really want to pay more money for clothes that are just … eh.

This is going to be painful, but in the long run, it will be worth it. Right?

Right???

At least, I hope it’s worth it …

2 thoughts on “This is going to be painful …

  1. There are lots of flattering patterns I have used that are easy to sew, and quick, no zippers, buttons, etc. I find that if I buy a beautiful, flattering fabric, I could make a big bag and pull it over my head and it will look good! 😀 I started with a couple of pull on pants, maybe black, blue, or brown or pull on skirts, whichever, then sewed up a few different tops to match the solid colours and I was all set! Good Luck on the “new” job! It will be fine!

Leave a Reply

