Vacation – Texas Style

This week, I’m on vacation. I’m not a big fan of vacations in the summer – they are usually hot, often muggy, and always too crowded. But this year, I made an exception. My daughter lives in the Killeen, Texas area, with her soldier husband, and she was expecting their first child – my very first grandchild! A week past due, the plan was for her to go into the hospital on Sunday and be induced, so we drove up on Saturday so we could spend a little time with them before the Big Event. Unfortunately, like all good plans, it didn’t work out quite the way we had expected it would. Even as Chris and I arrived in Killeen, a water main was shooting water 60 feet into the air, rendering everyone in that area with severe water restrictions, and no water at the hospital on Fort Hood. Sunday turned into Monday, and Monday was looking like Tuesday, so Monday, Chris and I took off to see some sights. The kids had to hang around the area just in case Kerstin got called in for the induction – she had an hour to get there after they called – so they didn’t accompany us. And honestly, it’s not really their “thing” to go off driving around Texas. But for Chris and I … well, we love it.

Over the course of Monday and Tuesday, we were able to visit 14 counties in the central Texas area, and I got photos of every one. I will admit, there are some I need to go back and re-do, because they just didn’t turn out quite as well as I had hoped. But overall, I got at least one decent shot of the exterior of each courthouse. This is the first one – Lampasas County, in the city of Lampasas (as we go through these over the next few weeks, you’ll find that the naming conventions for counties and county seats aren’t exactly original).

The courthouse in Lampasas County, Texas, was built in 1884.

The courthouse in Lampasas County, Texas, was built in 1884.

 

On Tuesday afternoon, Kerstin finally was admitted to the hospital to be induced. And on Wednesday morning, at 8:25 am, my beautiful little grandson came into this world. He is sooooooooo cute, and looks just like his mommy when she was a baby (and really, she hasn’t changed too much LOL).

My super cute grandson!

My super cute grandson!

 

I still have today and tomorrow off, so I’ll probably just hang around the house (we came home last night, as my daughter will be in the hospital for two days and BOY are those rooms SMALL!), and do some sewing. But we had a fabulous time in Killeen!

Leave a Reply

