January 11, 2014 – A new quilt begins

Earlier this week, I decided to put Dr Seuss on hold so I can practice some free motion quilting (FMQ) so I can FMQ some of the Dr Seuss quilt. I really hate practicing on small squares though; I find that I do better with a larger project, so I started putting together the practice quilt for the Free Motion Fillers, Vol. 1 class from Craftsy.com.

Practice Quilt

This is a pretty easy quilt so far (I’m pretty sure that’s the whole point, anyway) and the cost wasn’t too bad – about $50 total. So I might just make a couple more to practice on as well. These are all solid colors, obviously, and I’m using Kona cottons. But next time I might try ordering some Moda Bella solids to see how I like them – I’ve never tried them and I would like to give them a shot. I like Kona, and it’s a good quality but I’ve heard that Bella is a bit better. I’m going to use white thread to quilt with I think … I think white will show up better than black across all the colors.

Leave a Reply

