January 6th, 2014

Today, I went and bought some premium quality muslin to use for the backing of the Dr Suess quilt. Right now it’s clamped down to one of my cutting tables while the batting relaxes on top.

Relaxing quilt batting ... ahhh, this is the life!

Relaxing quilt batting … ahhh, this is the life!

I’ve been DYING to try out this method of pin basting – I hate getting on the floor to lay out my quilts, because it hurts my knees so badly, I end up rushing through the process. I saw this on a Craftsy class last week, so now of course I have to try it. I’ll post some photos of the process once I have it all figured out. This particular batting is 100% cotton made by Mountain Mist. To me, it seems really thin, but there is no scrim which might play a part in that. I’m not sure if I’ll like it but I figured you know, I already opened it, it’s laid out … why not just try it out? So I will … tomorrow.

While I’m waiting for the batting to relax (till tomorrow after work) I may start to cut out pieces for the Craftsy class Free Motion Fillers. Leah Day is teaching the class, and I’ve watched some of the lessons and tried out the designs, but I found after a few tries that I do better with a larger quilt sandwich than I do with little squares. Of course, my first try WILL be on little squares, but after a practice session I intend to try out the designs on the practice quilt. I don’t expect great results, but results that don’t make me want to burn the quilt will be acceptable. 😀

But then again, I’m pretty tired and I have to work tomorrow, so I might just relax and try to get some sleep tonight. Insomnia has been killing me lately! /yaaawn

Leave a Reply

