Hand Quilting?

I’ve had this idea floating in my head for a while, to buy a frame and set up a space in my living area to quilt by hand. I’ve never tried it before, so I’m not sure that I’d like it but at the same time, it would give my hands something to do at night as I watch tv with Chris, and I’d make some progress on a quilt that needs to be completed. I have three tops right now that need to be sandwiched and quilted. This weekend, I found a Q-Snap quilting frame for sale on Craigslist for $50, so I grabbed it up and will be giving hand quilting a go.

My plan is to sandwich one of the tops I made a while back that’s just sitting here waiting to be quilted and practice on it. The frame will very useful in case I decide to make a quilt for our bed, which is a king size. It would be possible but very difficult to quilt on my domestic sewing machine, which is why I’ve put off making a bed quilt for so long. Currently, we’re using Ugly Quilt on the bed (and I’ve come to like it very much, believe it or not), but it’s really not big enough to be a proper bed quilt.

What I need is to find someone who’s done hand quilting and see if I can pick up some pointers. I like the look of hand quilting, and it seems like slow progress on a quilt is better than no progress, because I’m pretty sure I’ll be fairly slow and not very good at hand quilting, at least at first. I do like needle work though .. that’s something, right?  A step in the right direction, maybe?

Thoughts on hand quilting? Anyone??

Leave a Reply

