Thursday Thoughts

1. We used the Ugly Quilt last night on the bed – it’s not really big enough for our king sized bed but for now it will do. The quilt that has been my bed for ages is one that was made for me by an old family friend when I got married to my first husband 22 years ago, and it’s falling apart now. It really must be retired before it gets any worse. After sleeping under Ugly Quilt last night, it was obvious that I need to come up with a “summer weight” quilt that will be warm but not too hot at this time of year – in Houston, it rarely dips below 78 degrees in the middle of the night during the summer months. Even with the a/c on, it was still rather warm under the quilt.

2. I need to get back to fabric dyeing really soon because I’ve got a quilt to make that will incorporate a great deal of hand-dyed fabric. It’s next after the little baby quilt I’ve already started.

3. In the last few days, I’ve realized that I have TONS of UFO’s (UnFinished Objects) hanging around, so I’ve made it my goal to get more of them completed this year. My next UFO is the fishy quilt I made my daughter when she was about 10 – she’s now 20! /hangs head in shame  It will make a great lap quilt, maybe? 😀

Happy quilting,

Jill

Leave a Reply

