Sorta Finished Quilt

I say it’s sorta finished because the reality is, it’s done but not the way I wanted it done. See, I broke not one, but two embroidery machines making this quilt. OK, maybe I didn’t break them, but they stopped working. The result is that three squares I wanted to embroider are not done, but at this point I just have to go with the flow. It doesn’t look bad, but it does look weird, because three of the squares are across the top. However, overall, I think the quilt looks ok. I’m not completely pleased with it, but at this point, since it’s headed “across the pond” I need to get it out the door, and I can’t wait any longer for machine repairs. /sigh

 

IMG_2661

 

What I like about this quilt is that it’s the first one that employs a lot of fabrics that I dyed myself – all the solids were done by me. The only purchased fabric in the quilt is the Winnie the Pooh/Tigger fabric. It was relatively quick and easy to make, and a fast finisher, except for the small problems with the embroidery. I think this is the last time I employ embroidery in my quilts to “tie” them off – I would need to invest in a more reliable, expensive machine for me to feel confident in doing anything too big (this was a baby quilt, only 3′ square, and it didn’t get finished despite using two different machines!). And I want to start focusing on free motion quilting – which will be interesting. I’ve done some practice squares, and I need to keep doing them, but nothing that’s been really great. I need to start spending at least 30-45 min a day practicing so I can get really good. Or even somewhat good.

I should have a photo of “ugly quilt” to post this week as well in it’s finished state. More about that then.

Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

