Yep, I suck

At posting here, that is. I could make all sorts of excuses about how I’ve been busy (I have been) or how I’ve been sick (I was) but the reality is, I just haven’t made this blog my priority. I should, though. It isn’t because I think I have lots of cool things to say that others can’t wait to hear or anything – it’s more because this blog is therapeutic for me. I don’t care if anyone reads it – it’s more about how it allows me to blow off steam, think things through in print, and … well, it’s a great journal. I need to do better.

I’ve been considering what sort of New Year’s resolutions I want to make this year. I make them every year but then by March, I’ve generally forgotten what they were. It doesn’t make me feel bad about myself that I don’t accomplish my resolutions, because I do accomplish many other things, and frankly, once I forget by March what I wanted to do in December … well, it just doesn’t lend itself to bad feelings, if you know what I mean. How can I feel bad about something I can’t remember? 😉 Anyway, I’m thinking that this year, maybe one of my resolutions will be to blog more often. Once a week, maybe – whatever is on my mind at the time. Whether it’s about something that’s happened in my life (like some moron ruining my Christmas), a quilt that I’ve finished (like my Christmas quilt) or some photography I want to do (like some winter shots around the bay) … I should post more here.

Also, I want to do more quilting. I could do more quilting – and more photography – if I wasn’t always so freakin’ tired every day after work. I think the problem is simple – I don’t get enough sleep. I got a Fitbit One for Christmas, which tracks, among other things, the amount of sleep you get in a night, and the number of times during the night that you wake up. I would have told you that I get plenty of sleep, but since having this thing for a few days, I can tell you that during the week, I’m not getting nearly enough rest. So, more rest it is. Maybe I’ll feel more like doing something in the afternoons.

Really, those are my only goals this year. Post more and sleep more. Oh, there are other things I want to do – more photography, more quilting, lose more weight – but right now, I’m only interested in focusing on these two things. Maybe, if I make it to March successfully, I might decide to add something new. But for now, this works for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

