Something Different

Different for me, at least. I’ve never made a purse, though I’ve made some bags. But I just put the finishing touches on a hobo bag for myself, and I’m pretty happy with it. There are, of course, some changes I will make next time, but over all, it works for me. What do you think?

I wasn’t really happy with the button, but I didn’t have a lot of choice. My local JoAnn’s store’s button selection sucks – I was really just looking for a black and gold button, but they had nothing that fit the bill – so I settled for this. It doesn’t match exactly but I guess it works. The fabric came from my stash, and I used a really great blue by Kona for the lining. There is a pocket inside that is made from the same butterfly fabric as the outer shell (I would have posted a photo of the inside, but I couldn’t get a good one). I can’t think of a better way to use my favorite fabrics from my stash!

I used Simplicity 0387, but next time I think I will make some changes to it – like a pocket on the outside for a cell phone. And I will trim back the interfacing, because it makes the seams a little too bulky and they don’t lay flat. The next purse I make will actually be somewhat easier … but I’ll save the info on it for another post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

