Football and Sewing Machines

I just watched the pre-season opener between the Houston Texans and the Carolina Jaguars, and I have to say I’m pretty happy with the outcome – the Texans took it, 26 to 13. And they were pretty classy about it too. At the end, when they could have easily scored again, they took a knee twice to run out the clock. Good game, guys! Can’t wait for the regular season to start, but next weekend there’s another pre-season game between the 49ers and the Texans. I’ll definitely be watching!

In other news, I went to look at some sewing machines today. First of all, let me say that I am definitely NOT a fan of the Pfaff machines. While it may seem silly to some, I don’t like the looks of the machines – all angular and it looks as if you could cut yourself on the sharp edges (you can’t, I tried). I also took a look at the Viking machines, but since they are no longer made in Sweden, they don’t have the same feel as they did five years ago. The guy I talked to suggested either the Brother (my personal favorite) or the Janome brand. He showed me the Brother Quattro2 6700, which was phenomenal. I mean, this thing can SCAN to find the location where you want to embroider on the hooped fabric, thanks to some handy little stickers that come with the machine. And if you put the sticker on off center, or tilted, or whatever … the machine will modify the design to fit however you want it to go on the fabric. It also has this really cool pen pad – you can write, draw or trace anything on it, and the machine digitizes it! This is a HUGE step up from the old days of having to use a computer and expensive software and a box to do such a thing. He had two or three of the refurbished 6700’s, and they cost $6700. Or, he was happy to sell me “last year’s model,” the 6000, for “just $6000.” [insert green sick smilie here]. Ugh … $6000 for a machine?!? I don’t think so!

He also showed me the 2800D, which is the upgraded version of the 2500D I sold a few weeks ago. It’s a really nice machine, and it is very much like the 2500D. It’s also $4300 … and I’m not really sure I am that into embroidery to pay that much for a machine. I mean, it’s nice and all, but I mostly do quilting, and the embroidery I do usually do isn’t all that big. So I came home to brood about it, and to talk it over with my husband. I mean, I’m not ready to buy a machine right now anyway, and I want to buy a machine that isn’t more than I actually need (you know, like I did the last time). Before I buy anything these days, I do a lot of research online. I mean, isn’t that what’s so great about the internet? You can find all sorts of information without ever leaving home. That doesn’t mean I make a decision before I leave home … well, not always … but it does give me the chance to know what I want to see when I go to look at something like a sewing machine. And this is what led me to the Brother Laura Ashley Innov-Is NX-2000. It is actually tailored to quilting, which is great, since that’s what I do the most. It has a look I like (if it had a color screen instead of monochrome I would be even happier), and it has something approaching 500 stitches included. Not only does it have a bazillion stitches, Brother claims it can stitch in multiple directions and it comes with all sorts of cool accessories – like a circular sewing attachment. I didn’t even know such a thing EXISTED, and now I feel like I have to have it. Yeah, I don’t know why either, but it sounds super cool.

I called a couple of shops, and found one that not only carries the machine and has one I can actually test drive, but the machine retails for around $2000. I couldn’t get an exact price, because you know, they aren’t supposed to tell you that stuff over the phone because it violates their dealer agreement (which I think it totally bogus, but whatever). But knowing that it’s around $2000 is helpful enough, because I think we can all agree that “around $2000″ is a heck of a lot less than $4300. And since it’s primarily meant to be used by quilters, I think it’s a good choice. I’ll go check it out next weekend and let you all know what I think.

And I’ve decided that if I do decide to go with the quilting machine, at some point I might decide to purchase an embroidery machine. If I do, I definitely won’t go for the $6000+ machines, but Brother makes several machines that are lower level with embroidery sizes up to 5″ x 7” that are less than $1000. I can live with that for sure.

I had planned to get out and shoot some photos this morning, but I didn’t get to bed until 4 am, and I wasn’t getting up at 6 am to go out. I’m going to try again tomorrow … we’ll see how that works. Hopefully I’ll be able to sleep tonight and I’ll have some photos to post tomorrow or Monday.

Until the next time … keep on doing whatever it is that makes you happy, so long as it isn’t illegal, immoral or unethical! 😉

Leave a Reply

