My World

I’ve stopped and started blogs before – blogs about my life, blogs about weight loss, sewing, quilting, photography, etc etc etc. And the thing is, none of them ever really feel like me. Do you know what I mean? I am not a focused individual. My life isn’t just photography, or weight loss, or sewing … all of this is evidenced by my lack of blogging. And by keeping multiple blogs about a variety of things (or by trying to combine them into one blog that already exists) I feel split. There’s not cohesive flow between all those different blogs … and let’s be honest. Those blogs are all about my life, or different aspects of my life, which is not compartmentalized, or segregated, or otherwise split into pieces. I am all of those things, and more. I have a pretty wide span of things that interest me, so why do I keep trying to segment my life into multiple blogs?

The reason why I chose the name for this blog is because one of my favorite movies is Under the Tuscan Sun. I really related to the main character, Frances, after my divorce. One line in the movie, in particular, struck me as good advice – live your life in many directions. And that’s what I’ve always done – I’ve always lived in many directions, but I never thought of it that way. When I embraced that sentiment, my life changed for the better. I returned to school and got my Business Administration degree with a concentration in Project Management. I met the love of life when I wasn’t even looking for him (who knew he would end up living just next door to me?!). And my career took off. I found fulfillment and love and happiness when I was sure all of that was more or less gone from my life. I embraced the chaos that is my life, and found bliss. 🙂

But the one thing I’ve not quite managed yet is to stop worrying about pleasing others and to just please myself. That doesn’t mean I don’t care what my husband or children think, because I almost always worry about that. No, I am specifically talking about my blogging life. I know that photographers don’t necessarily want to read about home decorating, and that people without children don’t give a darn about my almost grown teens. But you know, keywords and categories are a wonderful thing, and if you want to follow my blog, I suppose you’ll learn how to use them. Interested in photography? There will be a category for that. Want to know what recipe I recently tried that I loved? There’s a category for that too. Can’t wait to hear the next hilarious thing that comes out of my teens’ mouths? Yeah, there will likely be a category that one as well. Read what you like, don’t read what you don’t like. It’s a little like grocery shopping – you don’t want cereal? Don’t go down the cereal aisle! 😉

That said, this first post is a little about me, obviously, if you don’t already know who I am. My name is Jill, and I am 40-ish. I have a husband named Chris who is 12 years younger than me. He’s starting his own business in small engine repair, but he really wants to move into building custom motorcycles eventually. We found out recently that he’s diabetic, so that’s been a new aspect in our lives, but we’re learning how to deal with it. I have a 19 year old daughter, Kerstin, who is going into her second year of college – she just changed her major to be a paralegal. And my son Travis will be 18 this month. Oh, and I have a dog named Dean. He’s a super awesome schnauzer we just adopted. He’s about four years old. We all live in Texas, in the Houston area, and our lives are hectic and chaotic, but interesting, I think. I am going back to school at the end of this month to work on getting some accounting classes in to either go on to graduate school or to sit for the CPA exam.

Hobby-wise, my first love is photography. Soon, I’ll give you a quick run-down on how I got into photography and where I am these days with it. I spent a lot of time right after my divorce learning to quilt, but I haven’t done much of that in a while. I’m starting to get a little itch to sew some, but not nearly like I used to do. Both Chris and I love to cook, and we’re having to modify lots of stuff for him due to the diabetes, but it’s fun to try out new things. Sometimes, it results in us having a sandwich for dinner, but more often we’re successful. And then occasionally I decide to do something different, like interior design or jewelry making. I’m pretty sure you’ll see all these things and more if you stick around to read my blog, and I really hope you do just that.

Come back soon!

Leave a Reply

